Slow Out of the Gate

I’ll admit it…I’m having a hard time getting motivated. Every day I get started with the best of intentions. Coffee? Check. Doodle pad? Check. Music? Check. Motivation? Sigh…not so much. I find myself staring out the window, daydreaming. Or checking my Facebook page only to look up and discover I have wasted an hour on Candy Crush.

Ok, so maybe I need a change of scenery. Maybe I’ll walk the dog. Fresh air, sunshine (what there is of it)…that’s what I need. Fast forward thirty more minutes. At least I got my exercise. Fresh coffee, maybe a little morning tv…zzzzzzzzz! Wait, are you kidding me? How can it be noon already! I don’t even have anything thawing out for dinner!

Staying organized and working from home is a daunting task. Definitely not for the unmotivated individual. Unfortunately, more often than not, I have two or three days a week that go exactly like this one. These are the days that I miss the old nine to five, where work was work and home was home.

Working from home sounds like a dream job to most. However, the other side of that coin is that you live at your job. You may spend the whole day in your pj’s, but you also never get to clock out. Especially as a mom, there is always something that needs to be done, some mundane task that will cause your life to come to a screeching halt if it isn’t dealt with.

So to my readers out there who also work from home, what motivates you to keep moving forward? How do you avoid distractions and keep charging ahead, even when all you want to do is binge watch Netflix all day?

Leave a Reply

